Asking for money when working for free

Late last year I decided to start my photography career (insert all teeth smiling emoji).
And to dive in, I watched a number of videos on YouTube about starting a photography business, and did some general reading. Much of the content was from before 2020, majority of the top videos were 2 – 3 years old, and when I would listen to them talk about how they broke into the business, it started to feel a little dated. Maybe everyone’s stories seemed too unique to a time before social distancing regulations, and infinite closures.
So, I started with the advice that seemed most applicable to the times: update my website (this), start creating an online presence, join local online communities, and maybe even submit work for publication and competition.
There was one bit of advice I kept coming across that intrigued me because I had never heard of photographers or models doing this: Search online forums for photographers, models, and creatives, in order to find people who wanted to do TFP. *sounds scandalous*
TFP is trading time for prints – old school term from a time when photographers had to print their photos to share them, and models needed those prints to book gigs; and both needed this exchange to catch the eyes of people who would hire them for paid work. Facebook groups seem to be keeping the tradition alive, and people are working together to develop their skills, produce content, and attract clients who pay, or even become each others clients.

I believe this is called networking, something I think I’m very bad at, but it was straight forward enough, and wouldn’t hurt to try. 

For the past couple of months, I’ve been a little loner – spending time, initially, feeling out how the process worked.
The first couple of weeks, I scrolled for ages trying to get a sense of things: watching to see who posts, what’s the feedback like when photographers post, who is asking for TFP vs who is taking them on, and does it seem to be generating better work for the people involved, or are the same people (from either side) always asking for free work?

Observation: A lot of photographers seem to be stumbling over each other trying to hook work with models that are just starting out. Within a few hours, they’ll be dozens of comments (depending on the size of the group) of photographers agreeing to work for free. A number of times when I’ve gone to check out the model’s socials, they’re a little lackluster. I’ve seen a lot of smartphone pictures with varying degrees of composition and quality, but there are photogs with years experience vying for the same attention as newer photogs. I’m confused. Am I missing something? Why are veteran photogs offering to work, or asking for models to work, for free?
And without taking you on my entire mental journey, I have also been wondering about the benefits. Like I’m always investing in equipment, and time in online presenting myself, and learning how to photograph better, and I want to work with people that are investing in their craft if we’re both going to work for free.
So, how does a photographer know when to work for free and when not to? And is it worth it compared to just practicing self portraiture, or bugging friends?

Practice makes perfect – yes. Learning how to work with models is important – yes. And content is king… BUT when all is said and done at the photoshoot, the photographers work isn’t done, and didn’t start with the shoot (studying, concepting, making/buying props, equipment upkeep, etc.). 

And this brings me to my question: can ask I for tips?

I understand that we’re both attempting to work towards professional portfolio work. But right now I feel like my expenses are more? There are admittedly some starter costs and upkeep costs that I hadn’t been expecting. I’ve never known a professional photographer first hand, and while the “tips on starting your new business” videos do their best, who could possibly tell me everything I needed to know at the start? Or itemize the cost of bulbs, batteries, and backdrops?

How do I justify making upgrades if I’m only working for free?

This photography life is not mapped out. Everyone’s journey, and budgets, are different, and the work we do in TFP shoots will probably be the most fun and fulfilling because we’re working for the love of it. Using our talents to uplift each other.

But I think for the quality of work I want to produce, and do produce, that I might start leaving a digital tip jar out at my studio shoots. If nothing else, would love a little help with the cost of double AA.

What do you think? Have you done TFP work before? Did you find it beneficial, or was it not for you? Am I missing the point or have I caught on to something you realized at some point?
(Would love to know what other people think of this, but I’m to nervous to ask in the forums *insert appropriate emoji*)

Leave your comments, it's a good idea, trust me:

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star